Saturday, August 16, 2008

19 Candidates File for 5 Central Council Seats

At least 19 candidates have filed to run in next month’s Central San Pedro Neighborhood Council election, when five seats will be filled.

Linda Alexander, Arthur Almeida, Frank Anderson, Sylvan Arguello, Heidi Bartlett, Vernon Connoly, Aphram Khalbourji, Margie Maxwell, Wenceslao Murillo, Raymond Lee Parker, Joey Pedroza, Max Pierce, R. Price-Guinn, Rosa Elvira Quintero, Pedro Araujo Reyes, Renee Sanchez Durbin and Phillip Trigas will appear on the ballot.

Ray Buffer and Jason Herring filed as write-ins at Tuesday’s council meeting.

Of the five incumbents, only Khalbourji filed to re-run.

The other four – President Joe Gatlin, Vice President Mayra Perez, Secretary Pam Foster-Newsom and Communications Officer Joe Donato – may run as write-ins.

Of the 19 declared candidates, seven attended Tuesday’s candidates forum and introduced themselves to voters.

The election is Sept. 9 and the deadline for write-ins is Sept. 8. More information is available on the central council’s election page.

No comments: